End of Week 2

It’s been a hectic week, what with a family weekend, a fun dog show, still managing the puppy tout seule, and with news of a second Granddaughter from across the pond. Managed to attend the second virtual meeting, which I thoroughly enjoyed even though it was the very small hours for me!

I realised, from other posts (especially liked Carolyn’s video – well done Thinkbirth) that I hadn’t actually checked off everything on the list, so I just watched Clive Shepherd’s “Welcome to the Virtual Classroom“.  While the concepts were not particularly new to me (I’m not in education, but reasonably comfortable and familiar with Web 2.0 stuff), I liked how it was organised, and the flow of content.  I liked the way synchronous and asynchronous communications were explained – might have to borrow, with attribution of course.

I’ve already posted about what I’d like to get from the course.  To make it happen, I need more business!

I also checked out the Slideshare that Sarah blogged (correction – tweeted) on Network Literacy.  Looks brilliant – just wish the audio was available.  I’ve seen a personal learning network (I think that’s what Sarah posted a couple of weeks ago) and I love the closing quite from Tagore – “Don’t limit a child to your own learning, for he was born in another time”  How true for our course!

Later today, puppy permitting, I’ll start looking forward to Week 3.  Anyone who’s really interested in Bagel, check out her blog.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to End of Week 2

  1. Hi Chris, don’t forget to link to the things you’re talking about eg the slideshow on network literacy which I only talked about on Twitter 🙂 🙂

  2. chriswoodhouse says:

    Thanks Sarah. I was just thinking about that as I get to the end of my post about the Week 3 study items.

    I’ll go back and edit them in — and correct the reference 😉

  3. Chris
    recognise that heading picture- at least two me in this “group” (i hesitate to say community yet) use it.
    Like you I appreciated the clarity of sorting that the Virtual Classroom video had. played it to an almost full staff group who were looking at tools for distance facilitation with our candidates. snuck it in as you might say.
    How goes the puppy- aren’t they a lot of really hard work.

    • chriswoodhouse says:

      Thanks Willie.

      What can I say about Bagel? With apologies to Longfellow, “When she’s good, she’s very very good. And when she’s bad she’s horrid.” You’re spot on about how much work they entail, but I’m two-thirds the way through the solo flight so I think I’m getting the hang of it. Had a great day yesterday – a lot of time and thought on my part, lots of help from passers-by in the village, and one tired-out Aussie 😀

Leave a Reply

